The Department of Youth Programs created Tools for Effective Action thanks to funding from the Ministère de la sécurité publique. It consists of various facilitation tools which aim to sensitize youth to the phenomena of street gangs, more specifically to the recruitment of young women for the purposes of sexual exploitation.

The material is addressed to youth workers and educators who work with girls, 11 to 14 years old, and its primary goal is prevention. By improving girls’ self-esteem, we reduce their vulnerability and as a result, their risk of being recruited by street gangs.

Tools for Effective Action is available on-line, free of charge for anyone who wishes to consult the subject matter.

Street Stories

Street Stories: Girls, Gangs and Realities presents twelve young Montrealers from different backgrounds and neighbourhoods, who give their accounts of the recruitment strategies of street gangs, their initiation rites, the motivations for joining or leaving a gang, as well as their hopes for a better future.

The film aims to encourage reflection and exchange between young people and to sensitize them to the realities of street gangs and sexual exploitation.

The full version of this documentary is available by request at commande.leadership@ydesfemmesmtl.org

PDF Discussion of the film
discussion du film

Choose Your Way is a facilitation guide which aims to build girls’ self-esteem and leadership by encouraging self-knowledge, personal expression, and critical thinking and action.

The guide that accompanies the film is a reference and support tool for youth workers and other professionals. It contains materiel needed to facilitate and foster discussion with youth including in depth information about the young people who have shared their experiences, and ideas for discussion questions following the screening of the film.

It consists of two facilitation guides, Phase l and Phase ll, containing 22 workshops destined for youth workers and developed with an approach based on girls’ strengths. Participants are encouraged to discover their passions and their abilities, while affirming their unique characters.

PDF Facilitation Guide – Phase 1
Guide d’animation – Phase 1
PDF Facilitation Guide – Phase 2
Guide d’animation – Phase 1

Les Services jeunesse ont réalisé le projet Outiller pour mieux agir en plusieurs volets grâce au financement du Ministère de la sécurité publique. Ce dernier consiste en plusieurs outils d’animation efficaces qui servent à sensibiliser les jeunes aux phénomènes des gangs de rue, plus spécifiquement au recrutement des jeunes filles à des fins d’exploitation sexuelle.

En effet, le projet vise les intervenant-tes et éducateurs-trices travaillant avec les jeunes filles de 11 à 14 ans et l’objectif majeur est la prévention. En améliorant l’estime personnelle des jeunes, on diminue leur vulnérabilité et, par conséquent, les risques d’être recruté par une gang de rue.

Les outils du projet Outiller pour mieux agir sont disponibles gratuitement en ligne pour toute personne qui désire consulter le contenu.

Histoires de rue

Histoires de rue:filles, gangs et réalités présente les témoignages d’une douzaine de jeunes montréalais-es, de quartiers et d’origines différentes, sur les stratégies de recrutement dans les gangs de rue, les rites initiatiques, les motivations à joindre ou quitter un groupe, ainsi que le souhait d’un meilleur avenir.

Le film vise à solliciter la réflexion et l’échange entre les jeunes, les sensibiliser aux réalités des gangs de rue et de l’exploitation sexuelle.

La version intégrale du documentaire est disponible sur demande à jrainville@ydesfemmesmtl.org

PDF discussion du film
discussion du film

Choisis ta voie est un guide d’animation qui vise à bâtir l’estime de soi et le leadership des filles en encourageant la connaissance de soi, l’expression personnelle, la pensée critique et l’action.

Le guide qui accompagne le film est un outil de référence et de soutien pour les intervenant-es et professionnel-les. On y retrouve le nécessaire pour bien animer et alimenter des discussions avec les jeunes pour chaque capsule : des informations en

Il comprend 22 ateliers dans deux guides d’animation, Phase I et Phase II, destinés aux intervenant-es et conçus à partir de l’approche basée sur les forces des filles. Elles sont encouragées à découvrir leurs passions et leurs qualités, tout en affirmant leur caractère unique.

PDF Guide d’animation – Phase 1
Guide d’animation – Phase 1
PDF Guide d’animation – Phase 2
Guide d’animation – Phase 1